The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Cheryl Serrett.

DIGEST

SB 377 Reengrossed

2022 Regular Session

Peacock

<u>Present law</u> (R.S. 17:7(6)) provides relative to the duties, functions, and responsibilities of the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) which includes prescribing the qualifications of teachers and providing for the certification of teachers.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>. <u>Proposed law</u> removes outdated provisions, and updates terminology in <u>present law</u>.

<u>Present law</u> requires a person applying for certification to pass an examination which includes English proficiency, pedagogy knowledge, and content knowledge.

Proposed law removes the English proficiency requirement.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that a teacher who holds a valid-out-of-state teaching license, who has at least three years of successful teaching experience in another state, and who has completed one year of teaching in Louisiana is not required to take an exam to be certified in Louisiana if certain conditions are met.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that such a teacher does not have to be employed in Louisiana for one year prior to certification once their successful teaching experience is verified.

<u>Present law</u> provides for exceptions to allow certain persons who do not meet all certification requirements to be allowed to teach on an emergency teaching permit, including those who scored within ten percent of the score required for passage. Also, provides that the permit may be renewed twice and provides guidelines on how a teacher can be employed permanently.

<u>Proposed law</u> expands to allow the emergency permit to someone who holds a masters degree in the subject area in which he is seeking employment. Further requires persons on an emergency teaching permit to participate in a mentorship program and complete a preservice training program prior to the first day of teaching.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that after five years of effective evaluations and upon a signed affidavit of the superintendent of a school system recommending to employ the person the following school year subject to receiving certification, that the person must be granted a teaching certificate subject to background checks and a criminal history review.

<u>Present law</u> (R.S. 17:7.1) provides certain qualifications and requirements that BESE must require of an applicant seeking teaching certification, a leadership certification, and school psychologist certification.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that an approved teacher education program cannot require more than 120 hours of college credit for degree completion, including classroom observation time or mentorship requirements. Allows programs designated by the Board of Regents as dual degrees or dual certifications to exceed 120 hours.

<u>Present law</u> provides that an applicant for certification who failed to achieve a 2.5 g.p.a. in an approved teaching program, but who has passed all exams required for certification could be certified if he completes a postbaccalaureate program and meets certain requirements while pursuing that program.

<u>Proposed law</u> repeals provisions requiring students to pass an exam before enrolling in an approved teacher education program.

<u>Present law</u> (R.S. 17:7.2) provides relative to approved teacher education programs at public postsecondary institutions.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes student evaluation and counseling requirements for students entering a teacher education program.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that an approved teacher education program cannot require more than 120 hours of college credit for degree completion, including classroom observation time or mentorship requirements. Allows programs designated by the Board of Regents as dual degrees or dual certifications to exceed 120 hours.

Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Amends R.S. 17:7(6)(b), (c), and (e), 7.1(A)(3)(b) and (B)(1); adds R.S. 17:7.1(A)(1) and 7.2(A)(7); repeals R.S. 17:7.1(A)(7) and 7.2(A)(4)

Summary of Amendments Adopted by Senate

Committee Amendments Proposed by Senate Committee on Education to the original bill

1. Amends requirements relative to certification of teachers and approved teacher education programs.

Senate Floor Amendments to engrossed bill

- 1. Makes technical corrections.
- 2. Requires preservice training sessions of certain teachers.
- 3. Provides for certain dual degree or dual certification programs to exceed the 120 hour

credit limit.