The original instrument was prepared by Michael Bell. The following digest, which does not constitute a part of the legislative instrument, was prepared by Archana Cadge.

## DIGEST

SB 458 Engrossed

## 2022 Regular Session

Harris

<u>Present law</u> provides for a nine member board of commissioners of the Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection Authority-East (SLFPA-E), composed of at least one member from each parish within the territorial jurisdiction of the authority.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires that the nine member board of commissioners be composed of at least one member from St. Bernard Parish, two members from Jefferson Parish, and three members from Orleans Parish.

<u>Present law</u> provides for two at-large members. <u>Proposed law</u> changes the number of at-large members from two to three.

<u>Present law</u> includes the Tangipahoa Levee District in the SLFPA-E. <u>Proposed law</u> repeals <u>present</u> law.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that current commissioners serve until the end of their term or upon resignation or death.

Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Amends R.S. 38:330.1(C)(1)(a) and (iii); repeals R.S. 38:330.1(B)(1)(a)(v))

## Summary of Amendments Adopted by Senate

## Committee Amendments Proposed by Senate Committee on Transportation, Highways, and Public Works to the original bill

- 1. Requires the nine member board of commissioners be composed of one member from St. Bernard Parish, two members from Jefferson Parish, and three members from Orleans Parish.
- 2. Changes the number of at-large members required <u>from</u> two to three.
- 3. Removes the Tangipahoa Levee District from the SLFPA-E.
- 4. Removes the provision changing number of certain professionals required on the board.

5. Provides that current commissioners serve until the end of their term or upon resignation or death.