BY SENATOR BOUDREAUX

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches on its forty-eight years of promoting basketball in Louisiana and D. Scott Landry for over twenty years of leadership in the organization.

WHEREAS, in 1974, representatives from fourteen Louisiana universities and colleges met for the sole purpose of forming a state organization to promote basketball at all levels of competition in Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, from that initial meeting, the Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches (LABC) was formed, the first state organization of its kind in the nation, and on May 7, 2022, the LABC held its forty-eighth consecutive annual awards banquet in Baton Rouge; and

WHEREAS, LABC's membership is comprised of the coaches from all twenty-four of Louisiana's four-year and two-year basketball-playing universities and colleges, and its board of directors is comprised of the head mens basketball coach at each school; and

WHEREAS, in 1975, LABC created the Louisiana Basketball Hall of Fame to honor former great Louisiana college basketball players and coaches, and through the years, inductees have included Bob Pettit of LSU, Willis Reed of Grambling State, Pete Maravich of LSU, Robert Parish of Centenary, Joe Dumars of McNeese State, Karl Malone of Louisiana Tech, and Shaquille O'Neal of LSU; and

WHEREAS, each year at its annual awards banquet, the LABC inducts new Hall of Fame members and presents awards to Louisiana's major college, small college, junior college, and high school Players- and Coaches-of-the-Year, as well as the top professional basketball player from Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, selected by the state's mens basketball coaches, the LABC also names a Mr. Louisiana Basketball Award for the person who has made a significant long-term contribution to the game of basketball at any level in the state; and

SR NO. 134 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, past winners of this award have included not only former college and high school coaches and players, but also sportswriters, sports information directors, announcers, referees, an athletic trainer, and even a fan; and

WHEREAS, the LABC also has a memorial award in honor of founder and its first president, Don Landry, that is given periodically to someone who has rendered distinguished service and made a significant contribution to the LABC; and

WHEREAS, since the award's inception in 1998, the LABC has only named three recipients of the Don Landry Award, including the 2005 recipient, D. Scott Landry, who is the son of the award's namesake and has served as the LABC's executive secretary since the late 1990s; and

WHEREAS, in this volunteer role, Mr. Landry handles the day-to-day operations of the LABC, and seventeen years after his receipt of the award, Mr. Landry's commitment and service to LABC remains distinguished and truly worthy of recognition; and

WHEREAS, in addition to its awards, LABC has engaged in many other promotional activities including coaches clinics and All-Star Games; and

WHEREAS, the success of the state of Louisiana, the strength of our communities, and the overall vitality of American society depend, in great measure, upon the dedication of people like D. Scott Landry and organizations like the LABC that spend their talents, time, and energy coaching, teaching, and positively molding the young minds of tomorrow's leaders.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby recognize LABC for its continued commitment to promote and provide support for, and acknowledge the work of, Louisiana's basketball coaches, and further recognizes D. Scott Landry for his commitment and leadership in the Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to D. Scott Landry and the LABC.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE