2022 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 130

BY REPRESENTATIVES MACK AND HODGES AND SENATOR POPE

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Holden High School softball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2022 Class B state championship.

WHEREAS, the Holden High School Rockets softball team captured the 2022 Class B state title by defeating Anacoco High School, 10-4, at Frasch Park in Sulphur, Louisiana, on April 30, 2022; and

WHEREAS, the Rockets' victory marks the fifth consecutive state softball title for Holden High School; the school's softball program has performed at an exceptionally high level in recent years, and this year's team continued that trend; and

WHEREAS, Holden pitcher Taylor Douglas displayed an incredible amount of perseverance after giving up a lead-off home run to open the first inning by otherwise holding the Anacoco team's offense at bay; additionally, Grace Duffy went 3 for 3 at the plate with two home runs and four RBIs; and

WHEREAS, after Anacoco High School began to even the score, the Rockets sealed the game in dramatic fashion by hitting back-to-back-to-back home runs in the bottom of the sixth inning; and

WHEREAS, the Rockets were led this season by first-year head coach, Raven Andrews; Coach Andrews credited her assistant coaches, Rusty Hutchinson and David White, as well as her team for the victory; and

WHEREAS, the Holden High School softball team is most deserving of the highest recognition for its incredible championship season.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Holden High School softball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2022 Class B state championship and does hereby extend sincerest wishes for the continued hard work, perseverance, and success of the team and its coaches in all of their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the principal of Holden High School.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE