## **RÉSUMÉ DIGEST**

ACT 29 (HB 96)

## 2022 Regular Session

**Brass** 

<u>New law</u> requires the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections to issue a special prestige license plate to be known as the "United Most Worshipful St. John's Grand Lodge of Louisiana A.F. & A.M." and the "Daughters of Universal Grand Chapter Order of Eastern Star" license plates, provided there is a minimum of 1,000 applicants for each plate.

New law requires that the secretary work in conjunction with the deputy grand master of the United Most Worshipful St. John's Grand Lodge of Ancient, Free and Accepted Scottish Rite Masons for the state of La. to select the color and design of the plates.

<u>New law</u> specifies that the license plate will be issued, upon application, to any citizen of La. in the same manner as any other motor vehicle license plates.

<u>New law</u> requires the department to collect an annual royalty fee of \$25 in addition to the standard motor vehicle license tax and a \$3.50 handling fee for each plate to be retained by the department to offset a portion of administrative costs.

<u>New law</u> requires monies received from the royalty fees for each plate to be forwarded to the United Most Worshipful St. John's Grand Lodge of Ancient, Free and Accepted Scottish Rite Masons for the state of La. Specifies that the monies received from the royalty fees be used for monthly expenses and building maintenance.

<u>New law</u> requires the secretary to promulgate and adopt rules and regulations to implement the provisions provided in <u>new law</u>.

Directs the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections, office of motor vehicles, to create the "United Most Worshipful St. John's Grand Lodge of Louisiana A.F. & A.M." and the "Daughters of Universal Grand Chapter Order of Eastern Star" speciality license plates when the applicable statutory provisions are met and its system is updated to accommodate the creation of new plates.

Effective August 1, 2022.

(Adds R.S. 47:463.214 and 463.215)