## **RÉSUMÉ DIGEST**

## ACT 349 (HB 732)

## **2022 Regular Session**

**Duplessis** 

<u>Existing law</u> establishes the Louis Armstrong Park Authority and Historic Jazz District for the purpose of acquiring ownership, leasing, or entering into a management agreement for the Louis Armstrong Park facility from or with the city of New Orleans. <u>Existing law</u> provides that the district is authorized to promote, encourage, and enhance the park and all areas within the boundaries of the district through renewed commerce, industry, and for the utilization and development of the human resources of the area. Provides for district boundaries.

New law additionally provides that the district is a political subdivision of the state.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that the district's governing board was composed of 25 members as follows:

- (1) Four members appointed by the Treme Community Improvement Assoc., Inc.
- (2) One member appointed by the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Foundation, Inc.
- (3) One member appointed by the Congo Square Foundation, Inc.
- (4) One member appointed by the New Orleans Musicians Organized, Inc.
- (5) One member appointed by the Women Entrepreneurs for Economic Development, Inc.
- (6) One member appointed by the St. Bernard/N. Claiborne Merchants Assoc.
- (7) One member appointed by the Treme Community Education Program from a list of nominations by the Treme Brass Band, the Dirty Dozen Brass Band, and the New Birth Brass Band.
- (8) One member appointed by the Treme Community Education Program.
- (9) One member appointed by the Kumbuka African Drum and Dance Collective.
- (10) One member appointed by the Treme Community Education Program, who shall be a tavern or jazz club operator.
- (11) One member appointed from a Mardi Gras Indians Tribe by the Tamborine and Fan Club, Inc.
- (12) One member appointed by the UMOJA.
- (13) One member appointed by the Tamborine and Fan Club.
- (14) The state senator from the 4th Senatorial District or his designee.
- (15) The state representative from the 96th Representative District or his designee.
- (16) The state senator from the 3rd Senatorial District or his designee.
- (17) The state representative from the 93rd Representative District or his designee.
- (18) One member appointed by the Downtown Development District.
- (19) The mayor of the city of New Orleans or his designee.
- (20) The governor or his designee.
- (21) The city council member from District C or his designee.

(22) One member appointed by the New Orleans Music Commission.

New law provides instead that the board is composed of 17 members as follows:

- (1) One member appointed by the governing board of the Greater Treme Consortium, Inc.
- (2) One member appointed by the governing board of Save Our Soul Coalition, Inc.
- One member appointed by the governing board of The Louis Armstrong Educational Foundation, Inc.
- (4) One member appointed jointly by the governing boards of the Claiborne Cultural Innovation District and the Claiborne Merchants & Business Association.
- One member appointed by the governing board of the Historic Faubourg Treme Assoc.
- (6) One member appointed by the governing board of French Quarter Citizens, Inc.
- (7) One member appointed by the governing board of the Congo Square Preservation Society.
- (8) One member appointed by the governing board of the New Orleans Black Masking Indian Cooperative.
- (9) One member appointed by the governing board of the Kumbuka African Drum and Dance Collective.
- (10) One member appointed by the governing board of the New Orleans Culture Preservation Committee.
- (11) One member appointed by the governing board of Tamborine and Fan, Inc.
- (12) One member appointed by the governing board of the New Orleans Musicians' Clinic and Assistance Foundation.
- (13) The member of the La. Senate whose district encompasses all or the greater portion of the area of the district or his designee.
- (14) The member of the La. House of Representatives whose district encompasses all or the greater portion of the area of the district or his designee.
- (15) The member of the U.S. House of Representatives whose district encompasses all or the greater portion of the area of the district or his designee.
- (16) The mayor of the city of New Orleans or his designee.
- (17) The member of the governing authority of the city of New Orleans whose district encompasses all or the greater portion of the area of the district or his designee.

Existing law requires board members to be residents of Orleans Parish and serve three-year terms. New law additionally provides that terms are staggered and that the terms of board members in office on Aug. 1, 2022 shall terminate on that date.

<u>Existing law</u> grants certain powers to the board in order to provide for the growth and development of the district, including but not limited to the following:

- (1) To seek the designation of the park as a national park in any way it deems appropriate, including communication and cooperation with any state or federal authority or commission.
- (2) To make recommendations concerning natural and environmental factors; trends of industrial, population, or other developments; the habits and lifestyles of the people

of the district; the relation of land use within the district as it relates to the city as a whole; and areas for the concentration of wholesale, retail, business, and other commercial uses.

(3) To make recommendations concerning the need for and the proposed general location of public and private works and facilities, including but not limited to pollution control facilities.

<u>Prior law</u> granted the district the power to cooperate with and to engage in cooperative endeavors with other persons and entities as provided by the state constitution (Art. 7, Sec. 21(H)). Additionally granted the district the power to seek the issuance of revenue bonds through appropriate public entities.

<u>New law</u> removes <u>prior law</u> and grants the district all powers of a political subdivision for the purpose of funding the district and carrying out its objects and purposes.

Effective August 1, 2022.

(Adds R.S. 25:850.21; Repeals R.S. 33:2740.26)