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Present law requires the secretary of the Louisiana Department of Revenue (LDR) to send a notice by certified mail to a
taxpayer against whom an assessment is imposed at the address given in the last report filed by the taxpayer, or, if no
report has been timely filed, to any address obtainable from any private or government entity. Present law provides for the
self-assessment of taxes and requires the secretary to send a notice demanding payment within thirty calendar days from
the date of the notice if the taxpayer fails to accompany his return filed with a proper payment. Present law provides that a
taxpayer has the right to pay an assessment under protest or to claim a refund of an assessment after payment.

Proposed law requires the Secretary of LDR to send a notice by First-Class Mail International with Electronic USPS Delivery
Confirmation if the notice is to be mailed to an address outside the U.S. Proposed law specifies a taxpayer has the right to
pay an assessment under protest within thirty calendar days from the date of the notice and otherwise retains present law.

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental expenditures as a result of this measure. The Louisiana
Department of Revenue (LDR) has already started implementing changes to mail international letters via the First-Class Mail
International with Electronic USPS Delivery Confirmation.

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental revenues as a result of this measure.

Current law allows taxpayers who dispute self-assessed taxes to pay the amount reported under protest or to pay the
amount due and claim a refund. A claim for refund for must be filed within three years of December 31st of the year the tax
became due or one year from payment, whichever is later. However, there is no time restriction imposed on payment under
protest of a self-assessed tax.

Proposed law limits the period during which taxpayers may pay a self-assessed tax under protest to 30 calendar days from
the date of the notice.

REVENUE EXPLANATION

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

Provides relative to the assessment of taxes by the Department of Revenue. (8/1/23)
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Dual Referral RulesSenate House

13.5.1 >= $100,000 Annual Fiscal Cost {S & H} 6.8(F)(1) >= $100,000 SGF Fiscal Cost {H & S}

13.5.2 >= $500,000 Annual Tax or Fee
                Change {S & H}

6.8(G) >= $500,000 Tax or Fee Increase
                or a Net Fee Decrease {S}


