2023 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 36

BY REPRESENTATIVE DEVILLIER AND SENATORS CLOUD AND HENSGENS

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend Louisiana State University at Eunice Professor Emeritus Dr. Malcolm Vidrine for being recognized as the 2022 recipient of the James William Rivers Prize in Louisiana Studies.

WHEREAS, the James William Rivers Prize in Louisiana Studies is presented by the Center for Louisiana Studies at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and is one of the most prestigious awards recognizing contributions to Louisiana's culture and history; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Malcolm Vidrine has been recognized as the 2022 recipient of the James William Rivers Prize in Louisiana Studies for his key contributions to the LSU at Eunice and Acadiana communities through the Cajun Prairie Restoration Project; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Vidrine, fellow LSU at Eunice professor, Dr. Charles Allen, and a group of local prairie enthusiasts officially began the Cajun Prairie Restoration Project in 1988; the project consists of a ten-area living exhibit of more than one hundred species of plants, flowers, and grasses that are all native to Louisiana and has been touted as one of the United States' leading flora restoration sites; and

WHEREAS, in addition to his prairie conservation efforts, Dr. Vidrine is also an accomplished researcher and author who has published twenty books, one hundred sixteen scientific papers, and one hundred twenty-five published abstracts; he is most deserving of the highest recognition for his incredible accomplishments.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Louisiana State University at Eunice Professor Emeritus Dr. Malcolm Vidrine for being recognized as the 2022 recipient of the James William Rivers Prize in Louisiana Studies; does hereby further recognize Dr. Vidrine's truly inspiring commitment to the restoration of Louisiana flora and the Cajun Prairie; and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that he continue to prosper in all of his endeavors.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE