2023 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 49

BY REPRESENTATIVE ROMERO

A RESOLUTION

To commend Allen "Rusty" Cassidy on being named the Louisiana Pharmacists Association 2022 Pharmacist of the Year.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Pharmacists Association (LPA) recently recognized state pharmacists who displayed exemplary leadership during its annual convention; and

WHEREAS, Allen "Rusty" Cassidy is a Louisiana pharmacist, LPA member, and owner of Cassidy's Pharmacy in Jennings, Louisiana; he was named Pharmacist of the Year, which is the highest honor bestowed by the LPA, at the association's 2022 convention; and

WHEREAS, for the first eleven years of his career, Rusty worked as a pharmacist at K&B drug store chain; he opened Cassidy's Pharmacy in 1995 and has faithfully served the city of Jennings and the surrounding area for the past twenty-seven years; and

WHEREAS, Rusty possesses an inspiring degree of humility and credits a great deal of his success to the employees of Cassidy's Pharmacy; he also avoids automating his pharmacy's operations in a way that would replace employees; two of his employees have been with him at the pharmacy since its opening; and

WHEREAS, Rusty prioritizes his customers' experiences at his pharmacy; he is fiercely loyal to his customers and works tirelessly to ensure that they do not go without their medications; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Cassidy is also an incredibly civic-minded individual; he is a past president and board member of the LPA and a member of the Calcasieu Pharmacists Association; he was also appointed, first by Governor Kathleen Blanco to the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy for six years, and again by Governor John Bel Edwards for six more years; he has also served on many committees at the local, state, and federal levels of government to discuss issues related to the pharmaceutical field with legislators; and

HR NO. 49 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, Mr. Cassidy is the gold standard among pharmacists and has received awards on numerous occasions for his work; his awards and honors include the Merck Sharp Dohme Award, University of Louisiana at Monroe Meritorious Award, Louisiana Pharmacists Association Independent Pharmacist of the Year, and Wyeth Bowl of Hygeia Award; and

WHEREAS, Allen "Rusty" Cassidy is most deserving of the highest recognition for his incredible accomplishments and sustained excellence as a pharmacist.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Allen "Rusty" Cassidy on being named the Louisiana Pharmacists Association 2022 Pharmacist of the Year.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES