## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 39

## BY SENATORS KLEINPETER AND PRICE

## A RESOLUTION

To commend the Port Allen High School boys' basketball team on winning the LHSAA Division III Non-Select State Championship.

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana has learned that on Saturday, March 25, 2023, the Port Allen High School boys' basketball team won the LHSAA 2023 Division III Non-Select Boys' Basketball State Championship; and

WHEREAS, the Pelicans won their fourth consecutive title when they defeated Winnfield High School 73-56 in Burton Coliseum in Lake Charles, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the Port Allen High School boys' basketball team exhibited the passion, teamwork, and determination of true champions and each member of the team deserves recognition for his vital contributions throughout the season; and

WHEREAS, this team of first-class athletes includes: Warren Bessie, Mason Boston, Koiey Ferguson, Ji'Siah Fernandez, Marques Harrison, Isaiah Howard, Aries Lewis, E.J. McQuillan, Shemar Morgan, and Frank Samuel; and

WHEREAS, the outstanding accomplishments of the team could not have been achieved without the guidance and skills of Head Coach Dimario Jackson Sr. and assistant coaches Dwayne Harmason, Antoine Washington, Raven Fernandez, and Alissa Thompson, and athletic trainer, Kacey Calabro.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Port Allen High School boys' basketball team on winning the LHSAA 2023 Division III Non-Select State Championship and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the team's coaches, players, and training staff continue their incredible work and always strive for greatness.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Port Allen High School boys' basketball Head Coach Dimario Jackson Sr.

## PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE