The original instrument was prepared by Yoursheka Butler. The following digest, which does not constitute a part of the legislative instrument, was prepared by Xavier Alexander.

## DIGEST 2023 Regular Session

Womack

<u>Present law</u> creates the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (board) to consist of nine members as follows:

(1) One registered engineer.

SB 218 Engrossed

- (2) One plumbing inspector.
- (3) Three master plumbers.
- (4) Three journeyman plumbers.
- (5) One tradesman plumber.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u>, renames the "Louisiana State Board of Health" the "Louisiana Department of Health", and requires its appointees to be licensed by the board.

<u>Present law</u> requires the board to adopt tests of qualifications for any person engaged in the duties of a tradesman or master plumber.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> and removes the board's option to accept an affidavit from an individual certifying his work experience in the field of plumbing.

<u>Present law</u> prohibits a natural person from engaging in the work of a journeyman plumber unless he possesses a license or renewal thereof issued by the board. <u>Present law</u> also permits a journeyman plumber to engage in the art of plumbing when he is under the supervision of a licensed master plumber.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> and adds that a journeyman plumber that repaired plumbing without the supervision of a master plumber prior to January 1, 2024, may continue to operate in such a manner for a period of five years, and shall within that five year period pass the master plumber examination to obtain a master plumber license.

<u>Present law</u> permits apprentices to engage in the art of plumbing but requires the apprentice to be under the direct, constant on-the-job supervision of a licensed journeyman plumber. Present law also defines "direct, constant on-the-job supervision".

Proposed law retains present law.

<u>Present law</u> provides that in order to obtain a tradesman plumber limited license, a person must work at least 4,000 hours at the manual labor of plumbing under the direct, constant on-the-job supervision of a licensed journeyman or master plumber.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> and further clarifies that the 4,000-hour requirement applies to unindentured apprentices. <u>Proposed law</u> also adds that indentured apprentices must complete at least 3,000 hours at the manual labor of plumbing under the direct, constant on-the-job supervision of a licensed journeyman or master plumber to obtain a tradesman plumber limited license.

Proposed law defines "apprentice gas fitter" and "indentured apprentices".

<u>Present law</u> provides that no master plumber license will be issued, renewed, or revived until the applicant has provided proof acceptable to the board that insurance has been issued to the employing entity by an insurer authorized to do business in this state.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> and makes <u>present law</u> applicable to master natural gas fitter licenses.

<u>Present law</u> authorizes the board to require master plumbers and master natural gas fitters to provide proof of comprehensive general liability and property damage insurance before issuing, renewing, or reviving an applicant's license.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> and raises the minimum aggregate amount of comprehensive general liability and property damage insurance <u>from</u> \$100,000 <u>to</u> \$500,000.

Effective August 1, 2023.

(Amends R.S. 37:1361(B)(1), 1366(C), 1367(A)(2), 1368(A)(1)(b), 1377(C), and 1380(A) and (B)(3))

## Summary of Amendments Adopted by Senate

## Committee Amendments Proposed by Senate Committee on Commerce, Consumer Protection, and International Affairs to the original bill

- 1. Provides that a journeyman plumber that repaired plumbing without supervision prior to January 1, 2024, may continue to operate in such a manner for a period of five years.
- 2. Requires that the registered engineer and the inspector shall also be licensed by the State Plumbing Board to serve as a member of the State Plumbing Board.
- 3. Make technical changes.