## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 181

BY REPRESENTATIVES SCHEXNAYDER, ADAMS, AMEDEE, BACALA, BAGLEY, BEAULLIEU, BISHOP, BOURRIAQUE, BOYD, BRASS, BROWN, BRYANT, BUTLER, CARPENTER, CARRIER, ROBBY CARTER, WILFORD CARTER, CORMIER, COUSSAN, COX, CREWS, DAVIS, DESHOTEL, DEVILLIER, DUBUISSON, ECHOLS, EDMONDS, EDMONSTON, EMERSON, FARNUM, FIRMENT, FISHER, FONTENOT, FREEMAN, FREIBERG, FRIEMAN, GADBERRY, GAINES, GAROFALO, GEYMANN, GLOVER, GOUDEAU, GREEN, HARRIS, HILFERTY, HODGES, HOLLIS, HORTON, HUGHES, HUVAL, ILLG, IVEY, JENKINS, MIKE JOHNSON, TRAVIS JOHNSON, JORDAN, KERNER, KNOX, LACOMBE, LAFLEUR, LANDRY, LARVADAIN, MAGEE, MARCELLE, MARINO, LYONS, MACK, MCCORMICK, MCFARLAND, MCKNIGHT, MCMAHEN, MIGUEZ, DUSTIN MILLER, GREGORY MILLER, MINCEY, MOORE, MUSCARELLO, NELSON, NEWELL, ORGERON, CHARLES OWEN, ROBERT OWEN, PHELPS, PIERRE, PRESSLY, RISER, ROMERO, SCHAMERHORN, SCHLEGEL, SEABAUGH, SELDERS, ST. BLANC, STAGNI, STEFANSKI, TARVER, THOMAS, THOMPSON, TURNER, VILLIO, WHEAT, WHITE, WILLARD, WRIGHT, AND ZERINGUE

## A RESOLUTION

To commend the Honorable Patrick O. Jefferson and to express enduring gratitude for his outstanding contributions to the parishes of Bienville, Claiborne, and Lincoln and the state of Louisiana, particularly during his tenure as a distinguished member of the Louisiana House of Representatives.

WHEREAS, Patrick O. Jefferson is a notable public servant who has served with excellence for three terms as a state representative since taking office in 2012, during which time he has fully used every opportunity to serve the citizens of District No. 11 and the state in an honorable and dedicated manner; and

WHEREAS, Representative Jefferson has been a proud member of the Democratic Caucus, the Louisiana Legislative Black Caucus, the Louisiana Rural Caucus, and the North Louisiana Legislative Delegation; and

WHEREAS, Representative Jefferson's diligent committee service has included a term as chair of the House Committee on Labor and Industrial Relations and two terms as vice chair of the House Committee on Education; he has also served as a member of the House Committee on Retirement, the House Committee on Civil Law and Procedure, the House Committee on Commerce, and the House Committee on Judiciary; and WHEREAS, in 2021 Representative Jefferson was honored by his colleagues who selected him as the recipient of the "Doc" Hudson Cup of Unity and Friendship, which is given to a member who maintains the qualities of civility, humility, and decorum; and

WHEREAS, during his time in the House of Representatives, Representative Jefferson has worked on and supported many important pieces of legislation; and

WHEREAS, Patrick O. Jefferson will forever have a special place in the chronicles of the history of Louisiana, for he is one of Louisiana's most outstanding public servants; and

WHEREAS, as he prepares to embark on the next exciting and productive chapter of his life, Representative Jefferson merits a sincere measure of commendation for his singular contributions and the exemplary strides he has taken as an exceptional member of the Louisiana House of Representatives.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Honorable Patrick O. Jefferson; does hereby extend honor and recognition to him for his outstanding contributions during his tenure as a distinguished member of the Louisiana House of Representatives, which has been marked by his uncompromising endeavor to improve the welfare of his constituents in the parishes of Bienville, Claiborne, and Lincoln and the state of Louisiana; and does hereby pay tribute to him for the generous and effective way in which he has dedicated his intelligence and his energy to the service of his family, friends, community, and state.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby express enduring gratitude to Representative Jefferson for his service to the citizens of Louisiana, as evidenced by his superlative achievements as a member of this distinguished body, and does hereby extend to him the best wishes of all his colleagues for continued prosperity and success in his future endeavors.

## SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES