2023 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 244

BY REPRESENTATIVE LARVADAIN

## A RESOLUTION

To commend Peabody Magnet High School and the graduating classes from 1970 to 1979.

WHEREAS, Peabody Magnet High School was founded as "Peabody Industrial School" by J.B. Lafargue and his wife, S.C.B. Mayo Lafargue, in 1895; at the time of its opening, it was the only public school for black students in first through seventh grades in Alexandria, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the name "Peabody" was chosen because of the grant given for the school's construction by the George Peabody Foundation; the first school was housed in a wooden two-story hospital building located at the current site of Peabody Sixth Grade Center on Third and Bogan Streets; in 1918, the school added eighth and ninth grades despite the U.S. Department of Education's refusal to approve the upper grades in African American schools; and

WHEREAS, Peabody experienced considerable growth in the following decades including the completion of a new, three-story school building and accompanying auditorium in 1925 and the addition of two grades in 1930; the school became "Peabody Training School" in 1931, after the Louisiana Department of Education sent Beatrice Wallace Spottsville to serve as a teacher trainer and supervisor; Peabody was recognized as a state-approved public high school in 1933; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Lafargue continued to serve as Peabody's principal until his retirement in 1937; afterwards, former Peabody Training School student, D.F. Iles took the school's helm and served until 1972; Samuel McKay, a distinguished chemistry teacher and community leader, served as the next principal, from 1972 until 1981; under Principal McKay, the school received its current name, Peabody Magnet High School; and

HR NO. 244 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, Dr. James Cleveland became the second principal of Peabody Magnet High School in November 1981; under his leadership, the school's curriculum was improved with the addition of the LD program, vocational programs, building trades, horticulture, and the honors computer-based classes; following his retirement in 1987, Clayton P. Williams

took over as principal before resigning in 1991; and

WHEREAS, Dennis Frazier was chosen as the principal of Peabody Magnet in 1991; he focused his efforts primarily on securing the construction of a new school building, and on November 3, 1998, voters approved a bond to fund the construction of a new, two-story Peabody Magnet High School at its current Broadway site; and

WHEREAS, Peabody Magnet High School selected 1968 alumni Peggie L. Davis as the school's principal following Principal Frazier's retirement in 1998; she took on the responsibility of overseeing the new school building's construction, which was completed in November 2000; in October 2001, Lee A. Dotson, Jr., accepted the principal position at Peabody Magnet; he was followed by Jamie Henegan, who was succeeded by the school's current principal, Dennis Stewart; and

WHEREAS, Peabody Magnet High School is a truly inspiring educational institution that has served the state of Louisiana for more than a century, and both the school and graduating classes from 1970 to 1979 are most deserving of the highest recognition.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Peabody Magnet High School and the graduating classes from 1970 to 1979 and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the school continue to prosper for many years to come.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES