BY SENATOR ROBERT MILLS

A RESOLUTION

To commend Senator Kirk Talbot on being a recipient of the 2023 Medical Professional Liability Association Award of Excellence for Public Policy.

WHEREAS, Senator Talbot is a notable public servant who has served with excellence since taking office in 2019, during which time he has fully used every opportunity to serve the citizens of Senate District No. 10 and the state in an honorable and dedicated manner; and

WHEREAS, Senator Talbot has shown his dedication to serving his community and the medical profession throughout his career and presently serves as the chairman for the Senate Committee on Insurance; and

WHEREAS, the Medical Professional Liability Association is the insurance industry trade association that represents a full range of entities doing business in the medical professional liability arena, including domestic and international medical professional liability insurance companies, risk retention groups, captive insurers, professional trusts, and other entities; and

WHEREAS, the Medical Professional Liability Association members insure nearly two million healthcare professionals around the world, including doctors, dentists, nurses, nurse practitioners, and other healthcare providers; and

WHEREAS, the Medical Professional Liability Association gives this award annually to government officials or private citizens who have undertaken exemplary efforts to recognize and advance the public policy needs of the medical professional liability community.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Honorable Kirk Talbot; does hereby extend honor and recognition to him for his outstanding contributions as a distinguished member of the Louisiana Senate, and for supporting healthcare providers and insurers in Louisiana, which is evidenced by the national recognition bestowed upon him by the Medical Professional Liability Association.

SR NO. 203 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Senator Kirk Talbot.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE