RESUME DIGEST
ACT 34 (SB 24) 2023 Regular Session Pope

Existing law establishes the La. Board for Hearing Aid Dealers (board) within the La.
Department of Health and provides that the board is composed of nine members. Existing
law further provides that seven members shall be hearing aid dealers and the eighth is the
state health officer or his representative.

Prior law provided that the ninth member shall be 60 years of age or over and shall serve as
a representative of the elderly consumers of Louisiana. New law lowers the required
minimum age to 50 years of age and provides that the member shall serve as a representative
of hearing aid consumers in Louisiana.

Prior law required any person who owns, maintains, or operates an office or place of business
in which the person employs or engages under contract a person who practices the selling and
fitting of hearing aids to be licensed by the board. Prior law further required each partner of
a partnership engaging in the practice of selling and fitting of hearing aids or the chief
executive officer of a corporation or legal entity engaging in the practice of selling and fitting
of hearing aids to be licensed. New law repeals prior law.

Existing law requires all businesses regulated by the board to annually file the following:

(1) A list of all licensed hearing aid dealers directly or indirectly employed by the
business.

(2) A statement on a form approved by the board that the business submits itself to the
rules and regulations of the board and the provisions of existing law.

Prior law further required a business to register with the board its intention to engage in the
selling and fitting of hearing aids or accessories prior to the business selling or offering for
sale hearing aids or accessories. New law retains prior law but makes technical changes.

Prior law authorized the board to revoke the registration of an organization for committing
any of the acts listed as causes for revocation or suspension in prior law. New law retains
prior law but makes technical changes.

Effective August 1, 2023.

(Amends R.S. 37:2455(B)(1) and 2455(B)(5)(a)(intro para) and (5)(b) and 2465)



