## DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 271 Original	2024 Regular Session	Hughes
		magnes

Abstract: Changes the membership of the governing authority of the parish hospital service district in Orleans Parish.

<u>Present law</u> creates a hospital service district in Orleans Parish. Provides that the boundaries of the district are coterminous with Orleans Parish, but provides that the district has two areas which are divided by the Industrial Canal. Provides that the two areas of the district shall be governed by separate governing boards.

<u>Present law</u> provides that each governing board includes two members appointed by the chief executive officer of the parish, one each from three nominations submitted by the following:

- (1) The member of the La. House of Representatives whose district encompasses all or the greater portion of the area in which the district is located.
- (2) The member of the La. Senate whose district encompasses all or the greater portion of the area in which the district is located.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes the provision for appointment of these two members and provides instead that the following are members of each governing board:

- (1) The member of the La. House of Representatives who represents House District No. 100 or his designee.
- (2) The member of the La. Senate who represents Senate District No. 3 or his designee.

<u>Present law</u>, which is retained by <u>proposed law</u>, provides as follows with respect to the remaining membership of each governing board:

- (1) Five members appointed by the chief executive officer of the parish, four of whom are appointed at his discretion and one of whom is appointed from three nominees submitted by the member of the governing authority of New Orleans whose district encompasses all or the greater portion of the area in which the district is located.
- (2) One consumer appointed by the chief executive officer of the parish.
- (3) The chancellor of the La. State University-Health Sciences Center School of Medicine or his

designee.

- (4) The chancellor of the Tulane University School of Medicine or his designee.
- (5) The president of the New Orleans Medical Assoc. or his designee.
- (6) The president of the Orleans Parish Medical Society or his designee.
- (7) The director of the New Orleans Dept. of Health.

(Amends R.S. 46:1095(B)(1) and (C)(3); Adds R.S. 46:1095(B)(8) and (9))