## **DIGEST**

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 150 Engrossed

2024 Regular Session

Travis Johnson

**Abstract:** Establishes the domicile of the Delta Agriculture Research and Sustainability District and makes certain members of the board of commissioners ex officio members without voting rights. Further removes the requirement that the district director be domiciled in the district within a specified period.

<u>Proposed law</u> specifies that Concordia Parish is the domicile of the district.

<u>Present law</u> specifies that the district is governed by a board of commissioners, consisting of 26 members. In pertinent part, the membership includes the following university presidents:

- (1) The president of La. Tech University or his designee.
- (2) The president of the University of La. at Monroe or his designee.
- (3) The president of the Southern University System or his designee.
- (4) The president of the La. State University System or his designee.
- (5) The president of Grambling State University or his designee.

<u>Proposed law</u> removes the voting rights of the presidents of La. Tech University, University of La. at Monroe, Southern University System, La. State University, and Grambling State University and their designees makes them ex officio members.

<u>Present law</u> requires that a district director hired after July 1, 2023, be a resident of the state and have been domiciled in the district for the preceding two years prior to employment.

<u>Proposed law</u> modifies <u>present law</u> by removing the requirement that the district director hired after July 1, 2023 be domiciled in the district for two preceding years prior to employment.

(Amends R.S. 3:342(B) and (I)(2); Adds R.S. 3:341(E))

## Summary of Amendments Adopted by House

The Committee Amendments Proposed by <u>House Committee on Agriculture</u>, <u>Forestry</u>, <u>Aquaculture</u>, and <u>Rural Development</u> to the <u>original</u> bill:

- 1. Make the following members of the board ex officio members without voting rights: the presidents of La. Tech University or his designee; the president of the University of La. at Monroe or his designee; the president of the Southern University System or his designee; the president of the Louisiana State University System or his designee; and the president of Grambling State University or his designee.
- 2. Remove the requirement that a district director hired after July 1, 2024 establish residency in the district within three months from hiring.
- 3. Make technical changes.