A RESOLUTION

To commend Dr. Rahn Bailey upon his contributions to healthcare and work in the field of psychiatry to significantly improve the quality of life for African Americans and to congratulate him on being the recipient of the 2024 Solomon Carter Fuller Award.

WHEREAS, the American Psychiatric Association (APA) Foundation has selected Dr. Rahn Bailey, Professor and Chair of Psychiatry at LSU Health New Orleans School of Medicine, as the recipient of the 2024 Solomon Carter Fuller Award; and

WHEREAS, the Solomon Carter Fuller Award was established in 1969 and named for Dr. Solomon Carter Fuller, recognized as the first black psychiatrist in America, and honors a black citizen who has pioneered in an area that has significantly improved the quality of life for black people; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Rahn Bailey's demonstrated contributions and exceptional achievements in the field of psychiatry making him an outstanding recipient of this prestigious national award; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Rahn Bailey is also the Assistant Dean of Community Engagement at LSU Health New Orleans School of Medicine; before joining faculty of the LSU Health New Orleans School of Medicine, he was Chairman of Psychiatry at Meharry Medical College, Wake Forest Medical School, and the National Medical Association; and

WHEREAS, while his early research focused on psychotic disorders/SPMI, it grew to include depressive illness/bipolar mood disorder, and expanded to forensic topics, competency, confidentiality, and risk management; currently, his focus is health disparities, healthcare reform, and violence; and

SR NO. 63

WHEREAS, he has eighty-six peer reviewed publications in more than twenty refereed journals and published three books: Health Disparities, 2013, Gun Violence, 2018, and Intimate Partner Violence, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Rahn Bailey, an advocate for change, has served as the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the National Medical Association/Cobb Research Foundation, chaired the National Alumni Council Board of Trustees of the National Medical Fellowships and completed a six-year term on the Rutgers University Board of Trustees in 2020; and

WHEREAS, he served as the 113th President of the National Medical Association; in 2006, he was selected by his peers as the NMA Physician of the Year in Houston during the Hurricane Katrina crisis; he was selected Outstanding Faculty Member at the University of Texas Houston and American Medical Association Co-Chairman of the Commission to End Health Disparities, 2012-2013; in 2022, Dr. Bailey received the National Medical Association Ernest Y. Williams M.D. Clinical Scholars of Distinction Award; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Rahn Bailey's work has been seminal in assisting communities in caring for patients' health, developing strategies to improve their health paradigms, and working to enhance the lives of young professionals.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby acknowledge with gratitude and commend Dr. Rahn Bailey for his outstanding achievements in the field of psychiatry, contributions to healthcare that have improved the quality of life of African Americans, and service to the residents of Louisiana and congratulate him on being the recipient of the 2024 Solomon Carter Fuller Award.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Dr. Rahn Bailey.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE