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There will be an indeterminable impact to local fund expenditures as a result of this measure; however, such impacts are
nuanced and situational, and not likely to be significant. Proposed legislation grants certain employees sick leave, for a
period up to a year, without a reduction in pay or accrued sick leave. The term "employee" is defined in R.S. 17:1205, to
mean any person employed by any parish or city school board who is not a teacher, whose employment does not require a
teacher's certificate, or who is not employed as a bus operator. Based on information provided by the Louisiana Department
of Education, there are an estimated 42,000 employees who would be eligible for extended sick leave under that definition.
In order to qualify for extended sick leave, an employee is required to have certified proof of a disability from a physician,
and that disability must be a result of physical contact made with a student, while providing physical assistance to the
student to prevent danger or risk of injury to a student, while acting in his or her official capacity. The term “disabled”, for
the purposes of proposed legislation, as defined in current law (R.S. 17:1200(C)), means “unable to or the inability to
perform the essential functions of the job the member of the teaching staff or employee was performing at the time of his
injury.”

Impacts will vary across school boards and be dependent on the number of employees involved in qualifying events, the
frequency of such events, and the cost of temporary employees hired, if needed, to replace an employee while on leave.
Additionally, unused sick leave can increase the monthly benefit of those employees who are also members of the Teacher’s
Retirement System of Louisiana (TRSL) up to a certain amount, if it is converted to service credit. TRSL converts unused sick
leave to retirement credit after an employee submits an official application for retirement. State law allows a member to
convert up to one year of unused sick leave earned on or after 7/01/90, to service credit at no cost to the employee. At their
discretion, employers may pay up to 25 days of unused sick leave at an employee’s daily rate of pay upon retirement.

Proposed legislation increases the number of days that an employee, as defined in R.S. 17:1205, of a parish or city school
board who is disabled while acting in their official capacity resulting from physical contact with a student, while providing
physical assistance to a student to prevent danger or risk of injury to the student, is eligible to receive sick leave for a period
of 90 days to a period up to one year, without a reduction in pay and without a reduction in accrued sick leave days.

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental revenues as a result of this measure.
REVENUE EXPLANATION

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

Provides sick leave for school employees under certain circumstances. (gov sig)
SCHOOLS

EXPENDITURES

State Gen. Fd.

Agy. Self-Gen.

Ded./Other

Federal Funds

Local Funds

Annual Total

REVENUES

State Gen. Fd.

Agy. Self-Gen.

Ded./Other

Federal Funds

Local Funds

Annual Total

$0

2024-25 2025-26 2026-27 2027-28 2028-29 5 -YEAR TOTAL

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

$0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

2024-25 2025-26 2026-27 2027-28 2028-29 5 -YEAR TOTAL

EG SEE FISC NOTE LF EX See Note Page 1 of 1

Patrice Thomas
Deputy Fiscal Officer

Dual Referral RulesSenate House

13.5.1 >= $100,000 Annual Fiscal Cost {S & H} 6.8(F)(1) >= $100,000 SGF Fiscal Cost {H & S}

13.5.2 >= $500,000 Annual Tax or Fee
                Change {S & H}

6.8(G) >= $500,000 Tax or Fee Increase
                or a Net Fee Decrease {S}


