SLS 24RS-682

ORIGINAL

2024 Regular Session

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 47

BY SENATOR SEABAUGH

COMMENDATIONS. Commends Ron Higgins upon receiving the 2024 Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism and on being inducted into the 2024 class of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	To commend and congratulate Ron Higgins upon receiving the 2024 Distinguished Service
3	Award in Sports Journalism and on being named to the 2024 Louisiana Sports Hall
4	of Fame.
5	WHEREAS, the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame in Natchitoches, Louisiana, each year
6	collaborates with the Louisiana Sports Writers Association in selecting a limited number of
7	sports figures who embody the character, skill, talent, and accomplishment worthy of being
8	named to the hall of fame; and
9	WHEREAS, the Distinguished Service Award is the most prestigious honor offered
10	to sports media in the state and recipients are carefully chosen after an extensive deliberation
11	by a forty-member expert panel based on their professional accomplishments in local, state,
12	regional, and national arenas; and
13	WHEREAS, Ron Higgins is the recipient of the 2024 Distinguished Service Award
14	in Sports Journalism and a member of the 2024 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Induction
15	Class; and
16	WHEREAS, a native of Baton Rouge and a 1979 Louisiana State University
17	graduate, Higgins has written for seven newspapers, three online websites, and a magazine
18	in four states during a decorated sports writing career that now spans six decades; and

SLS 24RS-682

ORIGINAL SCR NO. 47

1	WHEREAS, the man nicknamed "Mad Dog" has won more than one hundred and
2	ninety state, regional, and national writing awards including more than eighty-five first
3	places while working for the Shreveport Times, Shreveport Journal, Baton Rouge Advocate,
4	New Orleans Times-Picayune, Memphis Commercial Appeal, Mobile Press-Register,
5	Jackson Clarion-Ledger, TigerDetails.com, and Tiger Rag Magazine/TigerRag.com; and
6	WHEREAS, Higgins was honored by the National Sports Media Association in 2001
7	as Writer of the Year in Tennessee and Writer of the Year in Louisiana in 2015; and
8	WHEREAS, in 2008, while working for the Memphis Commercial Appeal, he served
9	as president of the Football Writers Association of America, and he remains the only
10	Louisiana native to hold that office; and
11	WHEREAS, Higgins co-founded the Tennessee Sports Writers Association in the
12	late 1980s and, on ten separate occasions, he was the Tennessee Sportswriter of the Year;
13	in 2011, he was inducted into the Tennessee Sportswriters Hall of Fame; and
14	WHEREAS, Higgins has covered three National Football League (NFL) Super
15	Bowls, eighteen men's National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Final Fours, three
16	women's NCAA Final Fours, three Summer Olympics, seventy NCAA football bowl games
17	including seven national championships, one National Basketball Association (NBA) Finals,
18	twelve NBA playoff series, three NBA All-Star games, twenty Professional Golf Association
19	(PGA) tour events, a world heavyweight boxing championship fight (Tyson versus Lewis),
20	as well as several seasons of Class AA Minor League Baseball, the Arena Football League,
21	and four minor league pro basketball franchises; and
22	WHEREAS, Ron Higgins is a longtime Heisman Trophy voter; a frequent guest on
23	sports radio talk shows and occasional television shows from Hawaii to New York; and he
24	has authored six books.
25	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby
26	commend and congratulate Ron Higgins upon receiving the 2024 Distinguished Service
27	Award in Sports Journalism and on being named to the 2024 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.
28	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Ron
29	Higgins.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Kathy Liberty.

SCR 47 Original

DIGEST 2024 Regular Session

Seabaugh

Commends Ron Higgins upon receiving the 2024 Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism and on being named to the 2024 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.