## BY SENATOR BOUDREAUX

## A RESOLUTION

To commend the Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches (LABC) on its 50th Anniversary of promoting basketball in Louisiana and its executive secretary D. Scott Landry for his many years of dedicated service to the association.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches (LABC) was founded on September 18, 1974, in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, by representatives from fourteen Louisiana universities and colleges with the primary goal of promoting basketball at all levels throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, the LABC was the first state-level organization of its kind in the nation, demonstrating Louisiana's leadership and commitment to the sport of basketball; and

WHEREAS, at its founding meeting, a constitution was approved and adopted, and the initial officers of the LABC included President Don Landry of Nicholls State, Vice President Benny Hollis of UL-Monroe, Secretary Tynes Hildebrand of Northwestern State, and Treasurer Jerry Sanders of Nicholls State; and

WHEREAS, the LABC's charter members of the Board of Directors consisted of esteemed individuals from various institutions, contributing their expertise and passion for basketball to the organization's success; and

WHEREAS, the LABC has played a pivotal role in advancing basketball in Louisiana, organizing coaching clinics, awards banquets, and the annual LABC North-South All-Star Game, which has been a celebrated event in the state's basketball community; and

WHEREAS, the LABC's initiatives also include the establishment of the Louisiana Basketball Hall of Fame, honoring legendary figures who have made lasting contributions to the sport, and the prestigious Mr. Louisiana Basketball award, recognizing individuals who have significantly impacted basketball in the state; and

WHEREAS, in 1998, the LABC created the Don Landry Award to honor individuals for their distinguished service and significant contributions to Louisiana basketball, further solidifying the organization's commitment to recognizing excellence in the sport; and

WHEREAS, LABC recently held its 50th Annual Awards Banquet in Baton Rouge;

SR NO. 90 ENROLLED

and

WHEREAS, Tynes Hildebrand, the third president of the LABC (1977-1978), who has been an exemplary leader and advocate for basketball in Louisiana, received the esteemed Don Landry Award for his outstanding contributions to the LABC over the decades; and

WHEREAS, Carlos Sample was named the 2024 Mr. Louisiana Basketball Award winner; Carlos Sample was the head basketball coach at Scotlandville Magnet High School for sixteen seasons and one of the most prolific tenures in Louisiana high school history; during that time, Coach Sample had a record of 482-83, coached three nationally-ranked teams, won eight state championships, and had six state runner-up finishes that spanned an unprecedented 14 straight state title game appearances in Louisiana's highest classification; and

WHEREAS, Carlos Funchess was named the 2024 Louisiana Basketball Hall of Fame Inductee; after a successful professional career, Carlos Funchess became the head coach of the Southern Lady Jaguars; he is a past recipient of the Maggie Dixon Award as the top first-year head coach, and in just his fifth season, led the Lady Jaguars to the 2023 SWAC tournament title; and

WHEREAS, the executive secretary to LABC since the late 1990s is D. Scott Landry; and

WHEREAS, in this volunteer role, Scott handles the day-to-day operations of the LABC; nearly twenty years after his receipt of the Don Landry Award, Scott's commitment and dedicated service to LABC remains distinguished and truly worthy of recognition; and

WHEREAS, the LABC and Scott's devotion to basketball has enriched the lives of players, coaches, and fans across the state, fostering a strong sense of community and sportsmanship.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Louisiana Association of Basketball Coaches on its 50th Anniversary of promoting basketball in Louisiana and its executive secretary D. Scott Landry for his many years of service to the association.

SR NO. 90 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to D. Scott Landry, executive secretary of LABC.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE