2024 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 324

BY REPRESENTATIVE BOYD

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Omicron Lambda Omega Chapter of the Crescent City Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, on the occasion of the fortieth anniversary of its charter.

WHEREAS, the Crescent City Alpha Kappa Alpha's Interest Group held its first general meeting in May 1983 with the hopes of establishing a second chapter; the group undertook volunteer projects to gain visibility and drive the reactivation of members; and

WHEREAS, the initial group consisted of nineteen members: Vera W. Bailey, Carlene A. Barthé, Rebecca Bell, Donnye L. Brady, Manya P. Carter, Ann B. Coxen, Veronica Downs, Ramel L. Fields, Mechelle A. Millet, Claire Mortimer, Alida A. Perez, Lillian L. Rayford, Marvel M. Robertson, Renae L. Ruffin, Cynthia R. Simms, Kathleen McKinney-Thomas, Brenda Brock Williams, G. Yvonne Jenkins, and Jackie L. Gorman; and

WHEREAS, the Crescent City Alpha Kappa Alphas continued to grow, and in the summer of 1984, thirty-three members met the obligations to form a new chapter; on June 16, 1984, the chartering of the Omicron Lambda Omega Chapter was held in the Moot Court Room of the Loyola University Law School; and

WHEREAS, the chartering ceremony was presided over by South Central Regional Director Mamie McKnight of Dallas, Texas; she was assisted by 16th International President Julia B. Purnell of Baton Rouge, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the thirty-three charter members of the Omicron Lambda Omega Chapter were Constance Abraham-Handy, Vera W. Bailey, Carlene A. Barthé, Rebecca Bell, Donnye L. Brady, Manya P. Carter, Ann B. Coxen, Michelle Dejoie-Manning, Veronica Downs, Ramel L. Fields, Marcia Galatas, Karen Farris Gavins, Jackie L. Gorman, Kathleen Mary Hall, Sandra Harington, Patricia Hightower, Terez D. Jackson, G. Yvonne Jenkins, Edith Gee Jones, Gail Lewis, Valerie A. Logan, Sheila Mason, Kathleen McKinney-Thomas,

HR NO. 324 ENROLLED

Kim D. Miguel, Michelle A. Millet, Claire Mortimer, Alida A. Perez, Pamela Pollard, Lillian A. Rayford, Marvel M. Robertson, Renae L. Ruffin, Cynthia R. Simms, and Brenda Brock Williams; and

WHEREAS, over the past thirty-six years, the Omicron Lambda Omega Chapter has sponsored numerous community programs that have received local, regional, and national recognition; its Leah B. Gordon Scholarship Award provides financial assistance to students at Dillard University, Xavier University of Louisiana, and Southern University at New Orleans; the chapter also established the Erin Peters Scholarship, which is awarded to undergraduate members of Alpha Kappa Alpha attending Tulane University; and

WHEREAS, the Omicron Lambda Omega Chapter also hosts the annual Healthy, Wealthy, and Wise Health Fair, where members of the community can receive free medical services and screenings; the chapter has raised money to support women with breast cancer through the On the Heels of Hope Cancer Awareness Brunch and Fashion Show; and

WHEREAS, the Omicron Lambda Omega Chapter is currently implementing programming under the sorority's international programming theme: "Soaring to Greater Heights of Service and Sisterhood"; this programming focuses on empowering families, building economic wealth, enhancing the environment, advocating for social justice, and uplifting the local community; and

WHEREAS, the Omicron Lambda Omega Chapter of Crescent City Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, and its members are most deserving of the highest recognition for their many achievements and support for the local community.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Omicron Lambda Omega Chapter of the Crescent City Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, on the occasion of the fortieth anniversary of its charter and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the chapter and its members continue to prosper in all of their endeavors for many years to come.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES