2024 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 335

BY REPRESENTATIVE DEVILLIER

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the Louisiana State University Eunice Bengals baseball team on winning the 2024 National Junior College Athletic Association Division II championship

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Louisiana State University Eunice Bengals baseball team on winning the
3	2024 National Junior College Athletic Association Division II championship.
4	WHEREAS, LSU Eunice won their eighth national championship on June 1, 2024,
5	at David Allen Memorial Ballpark under head coach, Jeff Willis; the LSUE Bengals were
6	the number one overall seed, defeating teams from Michigan, Florida, and North Carolina
7	on their way to a NJCAA Division II baseball record eighth national championship; and
8	WHEREAS, the Bengals finished the season with a 56-8 record and made the team's
9	11th World Series appearance under Coach Willis; and
10	WHEREAS, the Bengals defeated Brunswick 9-3 in the championship game; LSUE
11	was led by hits from Dawson Willis and Weston Fulk, and Tyson LeBlanc, Ashton Fuselier,
12	Andrew Lee, and Weston Fulk produced runs that secured the victory for the Bengals; Parker
13	Morgan recorded the final outs to send his team into the NJCAA Division II baseball annals
14	of history; and
15	WHEREAS, the team's players represent all areas of the great state of Louisiana,
16	hailing from Rayne to Ruston, from Bossier City to Baton Rouge, from Maurice to
17	Mandeville, from St. Francisville to St. Joseph, from Lafayette to Lake Charles, from
18	Ponchatoula to Prairieville, from Houma to Holden, from Moss Bluff to Monroe, and from
19	DeQuincy, Marksville, Kenner, and Bossier City; and

HLS 24RS-5384

1	WHEREAS, Dawson Willis was named the World Series Most Valuable Player after
2	leading the team with seven runs scored in the tournament; Alex Dupuy was named the
3	World Series Outstanding Defensive Player; and Liam Watt was named the World Series
4	Most Outstanding Pitcher for recording two victories in the tournament, including the
5	championship game win; and
6	WHEREAS, the All Tournament Team featured five LSUE players: Alex Dupuy,
7	Weston Fulk, Teddy Johnson, Liam Watt, and Dawson Willis; and
8	WHEREAS, the LSUE Bengals were awarded the Team Sportsmanship Award for
9	their outstanding community service and leadership on and off the field; and
10	WHEREAS, the players and staff of the LSUE Bengals baseball team are most
11	deserving of the highest recognition for their unprecedented accomplishments in the 2024
12	season.
13	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the
14	Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Louisiana State University Eunice
15	Bengals baseball team on winning the 2024 National Junior College Athletic Association
16	Division II national championship and does hereby extend sincerest wishes that the members
17	of the team continue their excellent work and always strive for greatness.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 335 Original

2024 Regular Session

DeVillier

Commends the LSU Eunice baseball team on winning the National Junior College Athletic Assoc. 2024 Division II championship.