SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 171

## BY SENATORS HENRY AND DUPLESSIS

## A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Tulane University baseball team for winning its second consecutive American Athletic Conference regular season championship.

WHEREAS, Tulane University's baseball team, known as the Green Wave, demonstrated exceptional skill and determination to secure their second consecutive American Athletic Conference (AAC) Tournament championship with an 11-10 victory over Wichita State on Sunday, May 26, 2024, at BayCare Ballpark in Clearwater, Florida; and

WHEREAS, Tulane left fielder Jackson Linn drilled a remarkable 433-foot solo blast to left center, giving the Green Wave the decisive run in the thrilling championship game; and

WHEREAS, the third-seeded Green Wave improved their season record to 35-24 and eagerly await their NCAA Tournament destination; and

WHEREAS, Jackson Linn finished the championship game with two home runs and a team-high three runs scored, earning him the honor of being named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player; and

WHEREAS, Linn was joined on the All-Tournament team by center fielder Teo Banks, first baseman Brady Marget, pitcher Billy Price, third baseman Gavin Schulz, and catcher Colin Tuft, all of whom displayed outstanding performance throughout the tournament; and

WHEREAS, Brady Marget, Gavin Schulz, and Colin Tuft also contributed to the team's success on Sunday, with Marget and Schulz combining for five hits and seven RBIs; and

WHEREAS, the Green Wave's Luc Fladda, normally the team's Friday starter, delivered a superb relief performance, securing five crucial outs and striking out three Wichita State batters; and

WHEREAS, the Green Wave turned four double plays during the game, showcasing their exceptional defensive prowess; and

WHEREAS, Tulane's victory marked their sixth consecutive AAC Tournament win,

SR NO. 171 <u>ENROLLED</u>

setting a conference record, and still the only back-to-back champions in the conference's history; and

WHEREAS, this championship is Tulane's 10th conference tournament title and secures their 23rd appearance in the NCAA Tournament; and

WHEREAS, Teo Banks has an impressive .500 batting average (27-for-54) in 13 career games at the AAC Tournament; and

WHEREAS, this championship game featured the first walk-off victory in the history of the AAC title game, highlighting the dramatic and historic nature of Tulane's achievement.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Tulane University baseball team for winning its second consecutive American Athletic Conference regular season championship and for their remarkable season.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Jay Uhlman, head coach of the Tulane University baseball team.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE