BY SENATOR HENRY

A RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate Metairie Park Country Day School on winning its 8th Louisiana High School Athletic Association Select Division III State Championship in boys basketball.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Senate takes immense pride in recognizing the athletic achievements of Louisiana's high school student-athletes and congratulating schools that attain excellence through determination, teamwork, and perseverance; and

WHEREAS, the Country Day boys basketball team claimed the 2025 LHSAA Division III Select State Championship title with a thrilling 59-56 victory over top-seeded Calvary Baptist Academy on Friday, March 7, 2025, at the Burton Coliseum in Lake Charles, Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the third-seeded Country Day Cajuns displayed extraordinary resilience and heart by overcoming a seven-point third-quarter deficit and executing a spirited comeback to secure the win; and

WHEREAS, the championship win marks the program's eighth boys basketball state title, the sixth under Head Coach Mike McGuire, and its first since 2019, further cementing Country Day's status as a Louisiana basketball powerhouse; and

WHEREAS, junior, Hermon Dyson, delivered a clutch performance with 17 points, seven rebounds, three assists, and two steals, including the game-winning basket with just 32.4 seconds remaining, and crucial free throws in the final moments and was named Most Outstanding Player; and

WHEREAS, sophomore, Kellen Brewer, added 13 key points and delivered a critical blocked shot on Calvary Baptist's final three-point attempt, securing the championship in dramatic fashion; and

WHEREAS, freshman, Curtis McAllister, contributed 17 points, nine rebounds, and three assists, showcasing his emerging talent and poise; and

SR NO. 49 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, eighth grader, Rhys Diley, scored 10 points, including a momentum-shifting three-pointer during a 7-0 run to close the third quarter, exemplifying the depth and youth of the Cajuns' roster; and

WHEREAS, Coach Mike McGuire, through skillful leadership and mentorship, guided his team to a nine-game winning streak to end the season, fostering a culture of unity, brotherhood, and unwavering belief in his players; and

WHEREAS, the Cajuns' playoff run was marked by fierce determination, selfless play, and a commitment to excellence that reflects positively on Country Day School and the values it instills in its student-athletes; and

WHEREAS, the state champion team members include: Zachary Borrego, Kellen Brewer, McAllister Callejo, Trey Dennison, Richard Dietz, Rhys Diley, Hermon Dyson, Manish Jain, Trey Knight, Henri Landry, Curtis McAllister, Jax McMahon, Andrew Nelson, Colin Snyder, Drazen Udhrain, and Brennan White; and

WHEREAS, the state champion team coaches and staff include: Head Coach Mike McGuire; assistant coaches Kevis Anderson, Ronald Atmore, Justin Napoli, and Andrew Stoma; manager Aaron Bush; team trainers Sarah Ramirez and Jiji Sano; and statisticians Ron Atchley and Bill Harrison; and

WHEREAS, the players, coaches, families, and the entire Country Day community deserve special commendation for their enduring support, sportsmanship, and school pride throughout this championship journey.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate Metairie Park Country Day School on winning the 2025 LHSAA Division III Select Boys Basketball State Championship and does extend best wishes for continued success both on and off the court.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Mike McGuire.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE