SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 59

## BY SENATOR STINE AND REPRESENTATIVE GEYMANN

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate the Sam Houston High School Broncos Baseball Team on winning the 2025 Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) Baseball Non-Select Division I State Championship and to recognize their incredible season, perseverance, and championship spirit.

WHEREAS, the Sam Houston High School Broncos captured the 2025 LHSAA Baseball Non-Select Division I State Championship in a dramatic and historic fashion; and WHEREAS, the No. 11-seeded Broncos defied expectations throughout the playoffs, embracing their underdog role and delivering clutch performances, culminating in a thrilling

three-game series victory over No. 1-ranked Live Oak, earning the program's second state

title and its first since 2001; and

WHEREAS, in game 2 of the championship series, sophomore Owen Galley delivered a walk-off RBI single in the bottom of the seventh inning to secure a 4-3 win and force a decisive game 3, having already contributed a critical RBI double in the first inning and stellar defensive plays at first base; and

WHEREAS, freshman third baseman Grant Oustalet tied game 2 with a two-out RBI in the sixth inning, while sophomore reliever Bennett Harlow shut down the top-ranked Live Oak offense over three scoreless innings to earn the win; and

WHEREAS, game 3 featured high-stakes drama and heart-stopping moments, as senior Charlie Donaldson sparked a seventh-inning rally with his second double of the game, senior Connor Walker executed a flawless bunt to bring Donaldson home for the go-ahead run, and Galley added an insurance RBI single before the Broncos sealed the 4-2 victory; and

WHEREAS, the Broncos' resilience was evident throughout the playoffs, coming from behind in four games to secure victories in the final inning, including twice in the finals against Live Oak and twice in the regional round against defending state champion, West Monroe; and

SCR NO. 59 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, the team was bolstered by a roster of exceptional student-athletes including varsity players: Connor Walker, Cole Flanagan, Owen Galley, Grant Oustalet, Haden Peshoff, Carson Christ, Ashton Bultron, Wyatt Harvey, Quinn Fiasconaro, Charlie Donaldson, Maddox Ardoin, Wilson Bell, Landon Gentry, Brady Foolkes, Bennett Harlow, Cooper Wiersema, Drew Johnson, Adam Baumgarten, Kolton Miller, Ty Smith, Coleton Donaldson, Brytn Gardner, Brock Blessington, Riggins Portie, Peyton Bell, and Kannon Keiser; and

WHEREAS, special recognition is given to Brytn Gardner for starting game 3 on the mound and to Coleton Donaldson for closing the championship game under pressure; and

WHEREAS, the Junior Varsity athletes, Aidan Batterton, Austin Richard, Cameron Heflin, Gavin Steech, Jackson Pruitt, Brenam Granger, Parker Smith, Quinton Schofield, Holden Seales, Connor Stephens, Drew Guillory, Ian Meche, and Tanner Laughlin, all played a vital role in supporting the success of the program; and

WHEREAS, the Broncos' exceptional coaching staff - Head Coach Chad Hebert and Assistant Coaches Matt Keller, Josh Youngblood, Drew Shifflet, Mike Abshire, and Bart Anderson, provided guidance, strategy, and inspiration; and

WHEREAS, Christi Barker played an essential role in the team's success by ensuring the health, safety, and peak physical condition of the players throughout the rigorous season, while Kinley Mercer and Joleigh Mistric served as dedicated and indispensable members of the STAT team, providing critical support during games and practices; and

WHEREAS, the program received indispensable support from Principal Mrs. Shannon Foolkes, whose leadership and encouragement strengthened the team's resolve and community pride; and

WHEREAS, numerous players earned postseason honors, including:

- All-Region: Owen Galley, Carson Christ, Cole Flanagan, Ashton Bultron,
   Connor Walker
- All-District First Team: Owen Galley, Charlie Donaldson, Cole Flanagan
- All-District Second Team: Connor Walker, Ashton Bultron, Carson Christ
- All-District Honorable Mention: Coleton Donaldson, Kannon Keiser
- All-Star Team West: Cole Flanagan, Connor Walker

SCR NO. 59 ENROLLED

• Academic All-State Composite Team: Connor Walker (4.0 GPA)

Academic All-State Class Team: Haden Peshoff, Brady Foolkes, Cole
 Flanagan, Landon Gentry, Wyatt Harvey, Wilson Bell; and

WHEREAS, the Broncos tied the school record for most wins in a season with a 37-8 finish and proudly brought home the program's second state championship, cementing their place in Louisiana baseball history.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Sam Houston High School Broncos on their incredible 2025 LHSAA Baseball Non-Select Division I State Championship victory and does hereby recognize the team's determination, grit, and commitment to excellence.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Head Coach Chad Hebert.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES