DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

Edwards

HB No. 447

Abstract: Requires all persons who are employed and who have established a residence in Louisiana to register all motor vehicles which they operate in the state within thirty days of establishing a residence here.

<u>Present law</u> requires any person who is a resident of a state which requires registration of the motor vehicle or motor vehicles of a person who is employed in that state within 30 days of such employment, and who is employed in and maintains a residence in Louisiana, and who operates one or more vehicles on the public streets and roads in Louisiana, to apply for a certificate of registration for each of those vehicles within 30 days of the date on which the person was employed in Louisiana.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires that any person who is employed in Louisiana, establishes a residence in Louisiana, and operates one or more vehicles on the public streets and roads in Louisiana shall apply for a certificate of registration for each of those vehicles within 30 days of the date that the person establishes a residence in Louisiana, without the requirement that the person have to do so only if that person's state of residence requires persons employed in that state to register motor vehicles there.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that upon the expiration of thirty days after establishing a residence in Louisiana, a person shall register applicable motor vehicles with the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections, public safety services, (DPS&C) by submitting satisfactory evidence of ownership or a valid lease agreement and proof of insurance which meets Louisiana minimum requirements, as well as any taxes or fees that may be due.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that in the event that the motor vehicle to be registered is financed or owned by a person who does not have a residence here, and the person required to register the vehicle is unable to obtain the title from the lienholder or the owner of record, DPS&C, may collect the taxes or fees due and issue a registration without issuing a title.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that any person required to register a motor vehicle pursuant to <u>proposed</u> <u>law</u> shall be eligible for a credit for all sales and use taxes paid to a state which has a reciprocal agreement with Louisiana.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that, for purposes of <u>proposed law</u>, a person who is employed in this state shall have established a residence here if he or his spouse owns a home or if he or his spouse has entered into a residential lease of at least six months in this state.

(Amends R.S. 47:501.1)