SLS 13RS-324

ORIGINAL

Regular Session, 2013

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 4

BY SENATORS THOMPSON, GALLOT, RISER AND WALSWORTH

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the Carroll High School boys basketball team on winning the Class 3A state championship.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend and congratulate the players, coaches and managers of the Carroll High School
3	boys basketball team on winning the Class 3A state championship.
4	WHEREAS, the Fant-Ewing Coliseum on the campus of the University of Louisiana
5	at Monroe, was the championship house for the Carroll High School "CHS" boys basketball
6	team; and
7	WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana
8	congratulates the Carroll High School boys basketball team on their competitive spirit during
9	the 2012-2013 season that culminated in winning the Class 3A Boys Championship; and
10	WHEREAS, the CHS boys team captured the state championship title with a 68-64
11	win over Farmerville High School; and
12	WHEREAS, the players of CHS displayed both excellence and impeccable team
13	maneuvers throughout the season, and each of these lionhearted young men earned
14	individual recognition for their vital contribution to the winning effort and for the success
15	of the boys basketball program at CHS; and
16	WHEREAS, Danterius Anderson, Raymond Bates, Anthony Caesar, JaCarre
17	Crockett, Amari Davis, James Donahue, Ladarius Gipson, Devanta Johnson, Josh Johnson,
18	Devante Shields, Terell Sims, and JaMarcus Walker are all recognized and commended for

SLS 13RS-324

1	their determination and dedication to the sport, resulting in a phenomenal season with
2	impressive wins and teamwork; and
3	WHEREAS, head coach Jesse Burnett, along with coach Adrian Wilson, coach
4	Antonio Howard, coach Mykia Chatman, coach Ricky York, and manager Jarvis Price are
5	also to be commended for their valiant efforts in motivating and guiding this team to a
6	coordinated reward of a championship; and
7	WHEREAS, JaCarre Crockett scored fourteen points and made three rebounds which
8	nabbed him most valuable player honors; and
9	WHEREAS, Josh Johnson made two free throws with ten seconds remaining to
10	clinch the team's victory; and
11	WHEREAS, CHS boys basketball team last won this distinguished state crown in the
12	2010-2011 season; and
13	WHEREAS, through its display of good sportsmanship, hard work, and outstanding
14	court play conversions, the CHS Bulldogs bring a commanding sense of pride in the school,
15	the city of Monroe, and to the state of Louisiana.
16	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana
17	does hereby commend and congratulate the coaches, managers and players of Carroll High
18	School basketball team on an impressive and memorable season, and on capturing the Class
19	3A Boys State High School Basketball Championship.
20	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to
21	Carroll High School principal Patrick Taylor, and head basketball coach Jesse Burnett.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Michelle Broussard-Johnson.

Thompson

DIGEST

SR No. 4

Commends the Carroll High School boys basketball team on winning the Class 3A state championship.