Edwards (HB 703)

<u>New law</u> requires any person hired or employed in an unclassified position, and whose annual salary or rate of compensation is equal to, or exceeds \$100,000, to provide proof to his public employer that he has been issued a Louisiana driver's license and that all vehicles registered in his name are registered in Louisiana.

<u>New law</u> is to be deemed a qualification for the position for which the person was employed or hired, and for the duration of the person's employment in the event the person's salary is increased and the requirements of <u>new law</u> are triggered.

<u>New law</u> requires all government agencies which hire or employ any person in an unclassified position, whose annual salary or rate of compensation is equal to, or exceeds \$100,000, to verify that such person has been issued a Louisiana driver's license and that all vehicles registered in his name are registered in Louisiana.

<u>New law</u> requires the public employer to verify that employees to which <u>new law</u> applies meet the requirements of <u>new law</u> for the duration of all such persons' employment.

<u>New law</u> provides that any person hired or employed in an unclassified position who does not meet the requirements of <u>new law</u>, or who no longer meets the driver's license and motor vehicle registration requirements of <u>new law</u>, shall be removed and terminated within 30 days of the public employer learning such person does not meet the requirements of <u>new law</u>.

Effective September 15, 2013.

(Adds R.S. 42:31)