### Regular Session, 2014

### HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 181

## BY REPRESENTATIVE COX

### A RESOLUTION

To commend Wright Waters on receiving the 2014 Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award.

WHEREAS, the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award is presented annually by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association's thirty-member Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame selection committee to an individual who has played a decisive role as a sports leader or administrator benefitting Louisiana and bringing credit to the state on the national and international level; and

WHEREAS, the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award is named in honor of Hall of Famer Dave Dixon, the driving force behind bringing the National Football League to Louisiana with the creation of the New Orleans Saints franchise, and the man who is also considered the "father" of the Mercedes-Benz Louisiana Superdome; and

WHEREAS, longtime Sun Belt Conference commissioner Wright Waters is one of two 2014 recipients of the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award presented by the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, Wright Waters served as a Division I conference commissioner for two decades as part of a forty-year career in collegiate athletics; and

WHEREAS, before moving to the conference level, Mr. Waters served as associate athletic director at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette prior to a four-year stint at Tulane University as both associate athletic director and interim athletic director; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Waters left Tulane for the Southeastern Conference, where he was commissioner for seven years and helped that league to achieve unprecedented growth; and

WHEREAS, Wright Waters left the Southeastern Conference in 1998 to take over as only the fourth commissioner of the Sun Belt, and two years later, he became one of only two commissioners in modern-day National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA) history to oversee the addition of football as a league sport in a currently existing Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) league; and

WHEREAS, under Wright Waters' leadership, the league became a Bowl Championship Series conference, and it gained a permanent seat on the NCAA Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, during his stint as commissioner, Mr. Waters was integral in convincing many Sun Belt schools of the benefits of moving to Division I, and was thus instrumental in helping to form a successful football league that now has two automatic bowl tie-ins, including the New Orleans Bowl; and

WHEREAS, led by Mr. Waters, the league added five members and increased its sports sponsorship by five; and

WHEREAS, Wright Waters will be among the 2014 Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame induction class to be spotlighted at the annual induction dinner and ceremonies on Saturday evening, June twenty-first, at the Natchitoches Events Center.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Wright Waters on receiving the 2014 Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Wright Waters.

# SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES