Morrell SR No. 150

Establishes Pretrial Service Commission to review the state's pretrial service laws and policies. Commission is to consist of:

- (1) The chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary B, or his designee.
- (2) The chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary C, or his designee.
- (3) The chairman of the House Committee on Judiciary, or his designee.
- (4) The chairman of the House Committee on Administration of Criminal Justice, or his designee.
- (5) The chief justice of the La. Supreme Court, or her designee.
- (6) One representative appointed by the La. District Attorney's Association.
- (7) One member appointed by the La. Public Defender Board.

Also includes the following ex officio, nonvoting members:

- (1) The president of the Pelican Institute for Public Policy, or his designee.
- (2) The executive director of the Micah Project, or his designee.
- (3) The secretary of DCFS, or her designee.
- (4) The secretary of DPSC, Correction Services, or his designee.
- (5) The chairman of the La. Sentencing Commission, or his designee.
- (6) The executive director of the La. Sheriffs' Association, or his designee.
- (7) The executive director of Families and Friends of Louisiana's Incarcerated Children, or her designee.
- (8) The deputy secretary of the office of juvenile justice, or her designee.

Provides that the commission be chaired by the chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary B and be staffed by Senate staff.

Commission is to make recommendations for policy and legislative changes on or before Feb. 1, 2015.