DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HCR 138 Original

2015 Regular Session

Lambert

Creates a Louisiana Crawfish Industry Study Committee to examine issues, laws, regulations, and practices surrounding the wild-caught and farm-raised crawfish industries and report by March 1, 2016, to the House and Senate natural resources and the House and Senate agriculture committees. Provides for composition of the committee as follows:

- (1) One member appointed by the Louisiana Crawfish Farmers Association.
- (2) One member appointed by the Louisiana Crawfish Promotion and Research Board.
- (3) One member appointed by the Louisiana Crawfish Producers Association WEST.
- (4) One member appointed by the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation.
- (5) One member appointed by the Louisiana Restaurant Association.
- (6) One member who is a wholesale/retail seafood dealer that buys and sells crawfish, appointed by the commissioner of agriculture.
- (7) One member who is a wholesale/retail seafood dealer that buys and sells crawfish, appointed by the secretary of the Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries.
- (8) One member who is a member of the Louisiana Seafood Promotion and Marketing Board appointed by the board.
- (9) One nonvoting member from the Louisiana State University (LSU) Agricultural Center appointed by the president of LSU.
- (10) One nonvoting member appointed from the Dept. of Agriculture and Forestry by the commissioner of agriculture. This member shall serve as chair of the committee.
- (11) One nonvoting member from the Dept. of Wildlife and Fisheries appointed by the secretary of that department.
- (12) One nonvoting member from the Louisiana House of Representatives appointed by the speaker of the House.

(13)	One nonvoting member of the Louisiana Senate appointed by the president of the Senate.