## **RÉSUMÉ DIGEST**

## ACT 262 (SB 149)

## 2015 Regular Session

Morrell

<u>New law</u> creates and provides relative to the Law Enforcement Management District of Orleans Parish which boundaries are coterminous with the boundaries of the parish of Orleans.

New law requires the governing authority of the district to:

- (1) Facilitate development and implementation of cooperative endeavor agreements and memorandums of understanding between or among the various agencies having law enforcement jurisdiction in Orleans Parish to provide police protection.
- (2) Provide greater communication and coordination between the various neighborhood improvement districts and crime prevention and security districts and with the various agencies having law enforcement jurisdiction to provide police protection in Orleans Parish.
- (3) Perform any other function the board may deem appropriate for achieving cooperative police security services.

<u>New law</u> provides for the following voting members to govern the district:

- (1) The mayor of the city of New Orleans, or his designee.
- (2) The chairman of the Criminal Justice Committee of the New Orleans City Council, or his designee.
- (3) The chairman of the House Committee on Judiciary, or his designee.
- (4) The chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary B, or his designee.
- (5) The sheriff of the parish of Orleans.
- (6) The constable of the First City Court for the city of New Orleans.
- (7) The constable of the Second City Court for the city of New Orleans.

New law provides for the following nonvoting members:

- (1) The commanding officer of each of the following college and university police departments:
  - (a) Delgado Community College.
  - (b) Dillard University.
  - (c) Loyola University New Orleans.
  - (d) Southern University at New Orleans.
  - (e) University of New Orleans.
  - (f) Tulane University.
  - (g) Xavier University of Louisiana.
- (2) The captain of the Orleans Levee District Police Department.
- (3) The police chief for the Harbor Police Department of the Port of New Orleans.

 $\underline{\text{New law}}$  requires the board to meet biannually.  $\underline{\text{New law}}$  further requires the first board meeting to be called by the chairman of the Senate Committee on Judiciary B, or his designee not later than Dec. 1, 2015.

<u>New law</u> rotates annually the chairmanship of the board between the chairmen of the House Judiciary Committee and the Senate Judiciary B Committee.

New law requires members to serve without compensation.

New law requires the board to keep minutes of all meetings.

Effective upon signature of the governor (June 29, 2015).

(Adds R.S. 33:9099.21)