## SLS 16RS-1241

## **ORIGINAL**

2016 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 50

BY SENATOR LAFLEUR

COMMENDATIONS. Commends Louisiana State University Boyd Professor Isiah Warner as the 2016 Southeastern Conference Professor of the Year among all faculty at its fourteen member universities.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend Louisiana State University Boyd Professor of Chemistry, Dr. Isiah Warner,
3	upon his designation as the Southeastern Conference Professor of the Year, having
4	been chosen from its fourteen member universities.
5	WHEREAS, the Southeastern Conference Faculty Achievement Award requires each
6	nominee considered to be a teacher or scholar at one of the member universities and to be
7	a full professor who has a record of extraordinary teaching and a nationally or internationally
8	record of scholarship; and
9	WHEREAS, Isiah Warner is a native of Bunkie, Louisiana, and a graduate of Carver
10	High School there, attended Southern University in Baton Rouge and earned his doctorate
11	in chemistry at the University of Washington in Seattle, Washington; and
12	WHEREAS, in 1997 Boyd Professor Warner received the Presidential Award for
13	Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering from President Bill Clinton; and
14	WHEREAS, a prolific author, Boyd Professor Warner has published more than three
15	hundred refereed articles in various journals dealing with the general areas of analytical and
16	materials chemistry; and
17	WHEREAS, Dr. Warner has focused his research in the area of fluorescence for
18	thirty-five years and he is considered one of the world's experts in the analytical applications

1 of fluorescence; and

WHEREAS, apart from his scholarship, Boyd Professor Warner is widely recognized
for his mentoring efforts, bringing more minorities and women into science fields at
Louisiana State University; and

5 WHEREAS, many of Dr. Warner's mentored students have gone on to pursue 6 postdoctoral studies at such prestigious institutions as the Massachusetts Institute of 7 Technology, Harvard University, Georgia Institute of Technology, the University of 8 Michigan and his alma mater, the University of Washington; and

9 WHEREAS, the Louisiana State University Board of Supervisors has awarded 10 Professor Warner its top faculty designation, Boyd Professor, for his contributions to the 11 field of chemistry and his success in improving minority participation in the sciences; and 12 WHEREAS, Boyd Professor Warner is one of only three academicians to maintain 13 the designation as a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor each of the past three years 14 of the selection process; and

WHEREAS, in 2000, Dr. Warner was named Professor of the Year by the Carnegie
Foundation for the advancement of teaching, using the CASE method in teaching
undergraduate students; and

18 WHEREAS, Boyd Professor Warner is vice president for strategic initiatives at
19 Louisiana State University, in addition to his teaching and scholarship duties; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Warner and his colleagues have all taken particular interest in their undergraduate students, and these efforts have been extremely successful with the graduation rate for these mentored students who are seeking a degree in the STEM areas of studies, twice that of Louisiana State University students as a whole; and

WHEREAS, Boyd Professor Warner's efforts in mentoring minority and women students have resulted in Louisiana State University ranking number one nationally in the production of PhD's in chemistry for African-American students and number one nationally in the percentage of PhD graduates in chemistry who are women; and

WHEREAS, this Louisiana State University Boyd Professor of Chemistry has clearly
 forged an exemplary career academically and has been a national leader in the mentoring of
 African-American and women students in the sciences, both admirable results which have

SLS 16RS-1241

- 1 caused him to be extraordinarily deserving of this Southeastern Conference Professor of the
- 2 Year Award.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana
does hereby commend Louisiana State University Boyd Professor of Chemistry, Dr. Isiah
Warner, upon his designation as the Southeastern Conference Professor of the Year, having
been chosen from its fourteen member universities.
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Boyd

8 Professor of Chemistry, Isiah Warner.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Mary Dozier O'Brien.

SR 50 Original

DIGEST 2016 Regular Session

LaFleur

Commends Boyd Professor Isiah Warner upon his designation as SEC Professor of the Year.