HLS 16RS-2442 ORIGINAL

2016 Regular Session

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 92

BY REPRESENTATIVE ROBBY CARTER

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the Kentwood football team upon winning the 2015 LHSAA Class 1A state championship

A RESOLUTION

2 To commend the Kentwood High School football team upon winning the 2015 Louisiana 3 High School Athletic Association Class 1A state championship. 4 WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend the Kentwood High School football team 5 upon winning the 2015 Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) Class 1A state championship; and 6 7 WHEREAS, the Kangaroos of the Kentwood High School football team have 8 completed a sensational season, earning the title of 2015 LHSAA Class 1A state champions 9 after blowing away the two-time defending state champion, the Haynesville Golden 10 Tornados, by a score of 40-7 in a fast-paced, exciting championship game Friday, December 11 11, 2015, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans; and 12 WHEREAS, this thrilling victory marked the Kangaroos' seventh state football 13 championship and the tenth straight win in an unforgettable season of thirteen wins against 14 only one defeat and a perfect 5-0 district record; and Kentwood quarterback Shyheim Carter 15 threw four touchdowns in a two hundred thirty-five yard effort to propel his Kangaroos to 16 victory in the 2015 state title game; and 17 WHEREAS, the athletes of Kentwood High School performed at the highest level 18 of excellence throughout the 2015 season and the playoffs, and each of these talented 19 Kangaroos deserves recognition for his vital contributions to the winning effort: seniors 20 Dontrell Berry, Jalen Bickham, Wayne Brown, Tyrone Brumfield, Shyheim Carter, Jaleah 21 Covington, Brandon Holmes, Brendon Holmes, Brett Landrews, Darriyn McKnight, Larry

25

to head coach Jonathan Foster, II.

1 Muse, Jerriel Robinson, Kyvan Trout, and Kordell Williams; juniors John Brown, LeCorreye 2 Carter, Jaleel Hampton, LaCharles Nichols, Tyrique Osby, Saderian Walls, and Jacoby 3 White; sophomores Eric Dunn, Tadron Lee, Aldric Lott, Damonta Magee, LaRenz Morris, 4 Tyshaun Roberts, Darrel Shanks, and Justice Ulshack; and freshmen Larry Carter, Derek 5 Cohn, Brandon Cooper, Anthony Holden, Devion Hookfin, Britt Kazerooni, Mickey Miller, 6 Trey Palmer, and Kendall Wilkinson; and 7 WHEREAS, the team's amazing feats could not have been achieved without the 8 unwavering dedication and inspiring guidance of head coach Jonathan Foster, II; the 9 Kangaroos coaching staff, Cornelius Blount, Jeremy Brown, Andre Cryer, Mario Cryer, and 10 Terrell Hookfin; team managers Bryce Cooper and Dennis Hamby; ballboys Rickey Briggs, 11 Tyler Hookfin, and Germarcus Wilson; and cameraman Alton Cook; as well as the passion 12 of the many Kangaroo supporters who contribute to the success of the school's football 13 program; and 14 WHEREAS, the team's outstanding 2015 season upholds the glorious tradition of the 15 Kangaroos, and all alumni and fans recognize the tremendous honor, pride, and joy that the 16 team brings to Kentwood High School, Tangipahoa Parish, and the state of Louisiana. 17 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the 18 Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Kentwood High School football team 19 upon winning the 2015 LHSAA Class 1A state championship; does hereby record for 20 posterity this exceptional team's triumph in the great sport of football; and does hereby 21 extend best wishes to the players, coaches, and everyone involved with this fine football 22 program as they celebrate their championship season and prepare for continued success in 23 the future. 24 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted HLS 16RS-2442 ORIGINAL HR NO. 92

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 92 Original

2016 Regular Session

Robby Carter

Commends the Kentwood High School football team upon winning the 2015 Class 1A state championship.