2016 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 92

BY REPRESENTATIVE ROBBY CARTER

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Kentwood High School football team upon winning the 2015 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 1A state championship.

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend the Kentwood High School football team upon winning the 2015 Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA) Class 1A state championship; and

WHEREAS, the Kangaroos of the Kentwood High School football team have completed a sensational season, earning the title of 2015 LHSAA Class 1A state champions after blowing away the two-time defending state champion, the Haynesville Golden Tornados, by a score of 40-7 in a fast-paced, exciting championship game Friday, December 11, 2015, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans; and

WHEREAS, this thrilling victory marked the Kangaroos' seventh state football championship and the tenth straight win in an unforgettable season of thirteen wins against only one defeat and a perfect 5-0 district record; and Kentwood quarterback Shyheim Carter threw four touchdowns in a two hundred thirty-five yard effort to propel his Kangaroos to victory in the 2015 state title game; and

WHEREAS, the athletes of Kentwood High School performed at the highest level of excellence throughout the 2015 season and the playoffs, and each of these talented Kangaroos deserves recognition for his vital contributions to the winning effort: seniors Dontrell Berry, Jalen Bickham, Wayne Brown, Tyrone Brumfield, Shyheim Carter, Jaleah Covington, Brandon Holmes, Brendon Holmes, Brett Landrews, Darriyn McKnight, Larry Muse, Jerriel Robinson, Kyvan Trout, and Kordell Williams; juniors John Brown, LeCorreye Carter, Jaleel Hampton, LaCharles Nichols, Tyrique Osby, Saderian Walls, and Jacoby White; sophomores Eric Dunn, Tadron Lee, Aldric Lott, Damonta Magee, LaRenz Morris, Tyshaun Roberts, Darrel Shanks, and Justice Ulshack; and freshmen Larry Carter, Derek

HR NO. 92 ENROLLED

Cohn, Brandon Cooper, Anthony Holden, Devion Hookfin, Britt Kazerooni, Mickey Miller,

Trey Palmer, and Kendall Wilkinson; and

WHEREAS, the team's amazing feats could not have been achieved without the

unwavering dedication and inspiring guidance of head coach Jonathan Foster, II; the

Kangaroos coaching staff, Cornelius Blount, Jeremy Brown, Andre Cryer, Mario Cryer, and

Terrell Hookfin; team managers Bryce Cooper and Dennis Hamby; ballboys Rickey Briggs,

Tyler Hookfin, and Germarcus Wilson; and cameraman Alton Cook; as well as the passion

of the many Kangaroo supporters who contribute to the success of the school's football

program; and

WHEREAS, the team's outstanding 2015 season upholds the glorious tradition of the

Kangaroos, and all alumni and fans recognize the tremendous honor, pride, and joy that the

team brings to Kentwood High School, Tangipahoa Parish, and the state of Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the

Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Kentwood High School football team

upon winning the 2015 LHSAA Class 1A state championship; does hereby record for

posterity this exceptional team's triumph in the great sport of football; and does hereby

extend best wishes to the players, coaches, and everyone involved with this fine football

program as they celebrate their championship season and prepare for continued success in

the future.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted

to head coach Jonathan Foster, II.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Page 2 of 2